Petit Sablon, Place du/Kleine Zavelplein
- Situated on the site of the former cemetery of the Saint-Jean hospital, the place du Petit Sablon was designed by Henri Beyaert and opened to the public in 1890. The small park is noteworthy for its integration of natural elements—flowerbeds and hedges—with the urban landscape. It features a grand wrought-iron gate and enclosing wrought-iron railings, which are individually unique and topped with 48 bronze statuettes representing the arts and crafts of Brussels.Inside the grounds is a statue of the counts of Egmont and Hornes by Charles-Auguste Fraikin (1817-1893), which dates from 1864.The figures were moved here from the Grand' Place in 1879. Other surrounding statues represent leading Belgian statesmen, artists, and scientists, including William of Orange and Gerhard Mercator.
Historical Dictionary of Brussels. Paul F. State.
Look at other dictionaries:
Kleine Zavelplein — See Petit Sablon, Place du … Historical Dictionary of Brussels